Happy Tracks in the Snow

sustainable parenting working from home children books yoga storytelling Woodcraft environment

They come with their own ideas July 29, 2007

Filed under: parenting articles,the kids — paulabrown @ 9:18 pm

I seem to have come across lots of co-sleeping parents lately and sent me back to my early days as a newbie. When Gabe (my firstborn) was born I was determined to co-sleep and carry him in a sling etc but it turned out he had his own plan. He hated sleeping with us and the first decent night we had was when he was in a moses basket by our bed. He’s been like that ever since and really considers he doesn’t even need parents and he’s probably right, never such an independent child did I meet.

When #2 arrived I was fully into the swing of fairly strict naps, taken by getting yourself to sleep, all fairly Gina Ford really (bar her fatal flaw – that newbie mums need time for Home and Away and a natter with their mates). But no, Jude had obviously read the Contiunuum Concept and had planned to be carried for at least 12 months, sleep with me, eat with me, be adhered to my side until he felt the time came to crawl or maybe even walk (only at 18 months). I wasn’t in that headspace at all and it came as a bit of challenge, one we’ve made our way through but a challenge nonetheless!

There’s a moral in this tale but I can’t quite put my finger on what it is! They have their own personalities and it helps to go with that a bit, I guess!

 

Leave a Reply

