Happy Tracks in the Snow

sustainable parenting working from home children books yoga storytelling Woodcraft environment

Guns, swords and other weapons of mass destruction October 13, 2007

Filed under: parenting articles — paulabrown @ 8:08 pm

So I thought I’d be the type to ban guns but it turns out that I’m not.

Both my boys (2.5 and 4.75 years) love ‘swording’ and ‘gunning’ and to be honest, I’m going with it. It all changed when I read a short story in Misreadings by Umberto Eco, a man so impossibly clever I barely understood a word but I did get the jist.

The jist is this: if they play guns now they’ll get it out of their system. If they don’t, it’ll bubble away for a VERY long time and twist them and warp them. Ok, maybe that’s a bit dramatic. But imagine this, if you don’t give them guns they use their fingers! Yes, their little innocent digits. I’m as passifistic (??) as they come but this is what I’m going with. For now.

But I have a distinct leaning towards swords as I think it’s a lot more jolly obvious the damage they do. Plus I wake up almost daily glad I don’t live in a country that actually has guns.

 

Leave a Reply

