Happy Tracks in the Snow

sustainable parenting working from home children books yoga storytelling Woodcraft environment

calm after the storm February 1, 2008

cny-small.jpg

So the fifth birthday has come and gone, complete with 34 small boys dressed as pirates and 2 small princesses watching the antics of a grown man dressed as a pirate (aka Captain Barnacle / Mr Brown’s Pig). Turning 5 made Gabe question his own mortality with a lot of discussion about death and the apparent belief that he was now that much closer to his own…

This week also saw me jumping neatly out of my comfort zone to perform in the Bristol Storytelling Festival’s Storytelling Slam Competition thingy. No I didn’t win but I didn’t make a fool of myself either and was even voted for by real people and everything. I chose a Cuban folk tale from Barefoot’s ‘Riddle Me This’ by the wonderful Hugh Lupton – a brilliant book about riddles and puzzling tales.

I have to confess to being one of the transgressors who’s tangled up in the Inland Revenue’s website problems, still haven’t filed my return as it’s still down, painstakingly reconciling stock in and out for the books was fun, especially as I hadn’t kept my records up-to-date. I won’t even bother to say it won’t be like that next year!

Next week is Chinese New Year so I’ll be running all over Bristol doing special Tatty Bumpkin sessions at nurseries, schools and the like with my big papier mache dragon head… Some activities to come on that…

 

One Response to “calm after the storm”

  1. jules Says:

    We have had Captain Barnacle twice for Toms parties in the past and he’s always gone down a storm.
    Can’t wait for Aimee to be old enough to sample a Tattybumpkin party! They sound like great fun.
    Well done for getting out to the story slam and being brave enough to get up and do your thing.


Leave a Reply

