Happy Tracks in the Snow

sustainable parenting working from home children books yoga storytelling Woodcraft environment

Feel the Fear… and do it anyway February 18, 2008

Filed under: poetry and stuff,utterly random posts — paulabrown @ 9:43 pm

In that serendipitous way I keep reading things at the moment with the same theme – get out of your comfort zone / work through fear / grab life by the horns etc. It keeps coming up in fiction / non fiction etc. It’s something I have long believed anyway but I felt moved this week to write to my parents about this.

Both my parents had challenges in their young lives and both have had amazing adventures which they created themselves – they’ve lived all over the world, have countless interests, ran all sorts of businesses, met some really interesting people, thrown a lot of parties and have a lot of stories to tell. My dad (a retired helicopter test pilot) was even an actual real life explorer, doing an expedition with Sir Ranulph Fiennes in his early twenties on a Norwegian glacier where he got dragged down a river behind a boat by his neck and almost drowned (not a planned part of the expedition I hasten to add).

As I grew up they always gave me this sense that I could do anything I chose to and that I could shape my world, that there was no sense in moaning about what hand I got dealt etc. It’s something that I’m only just realising has been very important to me so I wrote to thank them for their part in this.

I came across this bit of an ode by Arthur O’Shaughnessy recently and loved it:

We are the music-makers,

And we are the dreamers of dreams,

Wandering by lone sea-breakers,

And sitting by desolate streams.

World-losers and world-forsakers,

Upon whom the pale moon gleams;

Yet we are the movers and shakers,

Of the world forever, it seems.

Also on an exploring tip:

“We shall not cease from exploration and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.” T S Elliott

 

2 Responses to “Feel the Fear… and do it anyway”

  1. Cath Says:

    Paula,

    It is such a pleasure to read your blog, each article makes me laugh or smile. It is like listening to you! I love it!
    Thanks
    Cath

  2. Natasha Says:

    Paula you pick me up and inspire whenever I’m in need.
    Thankyou
    Nat x


Leave a Reply

